W. K. Kellogg House


W. K. Kellogg House photo of W. K. Kellogg House
W. K. Kellogg (1860 - 1951) founded the Toasted Corn Flake Company of Battle Creek in 1906. In 1925, Kellogg and his second wife, Dr. Carrie Staines, a physician at the Battle Creek Sanitarium, commissioned Benjamin and Benjamin of Grand Rapids to design a summer house here. Their picturesque estate includes this Neo-Tudor manor house, a windmill, a greenhouse, a stable, a boathouse, a combined guest house, garage and chauffeur's residence and a caretaker's house. Marshall Field and Company of Chicago decorated the interior. From 1944 to 1950 the estate served as a rehabilitation center for the Percy Jones Army Hospital in Battle Creek. In 1952 the W. K. Kellogg Foundation gave the property to Michigan State College (now Michigan State University), which developed it as the Gull Lake Biological Station.
 

Registered Site S0605
Erected 1991

Location: 3700 Gull Lake Road
Ross Township, Kalamazoo County

Topics:
Historic Homes


Home
Facebook link
Like us to get daily history updates.
 
N42.4069494 W85.4029083
View detailed Google map w/Satellite view
 
© 1991-2015 James Brennan. All rights reserved.