Bell Road Bridge / Dover
Bell Road Bridge
This Pratt through-truss-bridge, erected in 1891, was built by the Wrought Iron Bridge Company of Canton, Ohio. The bridge was assembled on site by a local crew using iron connecting pins that are visible at the deck level. These pins, unique to nineteenth century ironwork, make the bridge easy to assemble and capable of flexing to accommodate varying weighrts. The bridge is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Judge Samuel Dexter and Isaac Pomeroy built a sawmill here in 1832. After 1846,Daniel B. Sloan and Company replaced the sawmill with a gristmill called Dover Mills, which spurred the village's growth. In 1849 the Base Lake Post Office opened here. Sometime after 1861, Thomas Birkett bought the mill and built a church in the hamlet of Dover. In 1882 the post offices was renamed for him. Today only the mill's cut stone foundation and the mill stream remain visible northwest of this bridge.
The bridge has been removed from its foundation and pulled on to the east bank.
Registered Site L2030
Bell Road at Huron River
Dexter Twp, Washtenaw County Topics:BridgesCities and TownsMissing Markers
Evidence indicates that this Marker is no longer in place.Home
Latitude: 42.4011186, Longitude: -83.9082527