White's Bridge

White's Bridge White's Bridge
This picturesque covered bridge, one of the last of its kind in Michigan, was built in 1867 by Jared N. Brazee and J. N. Walker, builders of several covered bridges in this area. The name of the bridge derives from the White family, a prominent pioneer family. The crossing of the Flat River here was known an White's Crossing before the first primitive bridge was built. In 1840, a bridge of log corduroy construction was erected. It was replaced by this covered bridge, costing $1700. It is of the through-truss type with a gable roof. The hand-hewn trusses are sheeted over with rough pine boards. Wooden pegs and handcut square iron nails are used to secure the various parts of the bridge. White's Bridge has been in constant use since 1867, proof that it was well made.
 

Registered Site L0042
Erected 1965

Location: Whites Bridge Road over Flat River
Smyrna, Ionia County


Home
Facebook link
Like us to get daily history updates.
 
N43.0143126 W85.2980232
View detailed Google map w/Satellite view
 
© 1991-2012 James Brennan. All rights reserved.